Connect with us

Green Rush Daily

States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

Legalization

States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

Ever wonder which are the states that allow both a medical marijuana and gun license? Us too. Take a look at what we found.

Gun laws and medical marijuana laws are both known for being kind of tricky. Despite this, there are several states that allow both a medical marijuana and gun license.

Both topics have also been hot points of debate. And certain states are more than willing to give their citizens their fair due. Just as long as they have the correct paper work, of course. These are the states that allow both a medical marijuana and gun license.

Here Are The States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

California

In California, you are allowed up to eight ounces of weed. You are also allowed to have up to six mature plants or 12 immature plants growing at one time.

Regarding firearms, California requires a Firearms Safety Certificate, which allows the use of any firearm.

Connecticut

In Connecticut, you can also purchase or possess any firearm with a license. In Connecticut, it is called a Permit to Purchase. You are also allowed up to 2.5 ounces of medicinal marijuana at a time.

Hawaii

In Hawaii, you need a Permit to Purchase. This license is good for all firearms.

Under current laws, you are also allowed up to four ounces of weed. You can grow as many as seven plants.

Illinois

Illinois requires a License to Own to purchase or possess any firearm.

And if you have a medical marijuana card, you are allowed 2.5 ounces of usable weed during a 14-day period.

Maryland

Maryland is a state with stricter regulations on guns. This state requires a Permit to Purchase, but only handguns are permitted.

Maryland also allows up to a 30-day supply of medical marijuana. The amount you’re allowed to have is set by whoever prescribed it.

Massachusetts

Massachusetts requires a License to Carry for guns. But for handguns, you also need a Permit to Purchase.

For medicinal marijuana, you are allowed up to 10 ounces for a 60-day period of use.

Michigan

Michigan requires a Purchase to Permit for handguns only. It is only valid for 30 days. Short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, AOWs, and automatic weapons are allowed if you follow federal laws.

For medical marijuana, you are allowed up to 2.5 ounces at a time and 12 plants.

New Jersey

New Jersey requires a Permit to Purchase for all guns. However, handgun permits only last 90 days.

As for cannabis, you are allowed up to two ounces of weed.

New York

New York requires a License to Own for handguns only.

Qualifying medical marijuana patients are also allowed a 30-day supply of non-smokable medical marijuana. That includes things like edibles, CBD oils, and other similar products.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island requires a Permit to Purchase. This is for handguns only.

You are allowed to have as much as 2.5 ounces of cannabis and 12 plants.

Final Hit: States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

States That Allow Both A Medical Marijuana And Gun License

As you can see, there aren’t a ton of states that allow both a medical marijuana and gun license. But they are out there.

There’s been controversy in the past regarding gun ownership and having a medical card. But since weed is only starting to become legal, all of this is clearly becoming more of a norm. Consider this just the beginning.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Tim Kohut

Tim Kohut is Green Rush Daily Staff Writer hailing from New York. His hobbies include (but are not limited to) eating eggs, owning far too many cats, and watching Rob Schneider films. He’s a self-taught expert in the cannabis industry and hopes to share his vast knowledge with fellow weed-enthusiasts around the world.

More in Legalization

Advertisement

Follow Us

Trending

Advertisement
To Top