Connect with us

How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Nevada

How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Nevada

Guides

How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Nevada

We go into detail about the Nevada medical marijuana program and how you can go about getting a Nevada medical marijuana card.

Nevada Medical Marijuana Program

On November 7, 2000, ballot question 9 was approved in Nevada. This ballot allows patients with certain debilitating conditions to possess legally, use, and cultivate medical marijuana.

The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health Medical Marijuana Program

The Nevada Medical Marijuana Program is administered by the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.

Patients in NV wishing to participate in the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program must be a resident of NV, have one or more qualifying medical conditions, and register with the Medical Marijuana Patient Cardholder Registry.

There is a $100 fee to apply to the program.

In addition to NV residents, the Medical Marijuana dispensaries of the State of Nevada are authorized to sell medical marijuana to cardholders from the following states as long as the patient presents a State issued medical marijuana card:

What conditions qualify for the Medical Marijuana Program in NV?

Patients in Nevada diagnosed with one or more of the following medical conditions are allowed legal protection for the use of medical marijuana:

Will additional conditions be added to the list of qualifying conditions?

Additional conditions are subject to approval by the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.

How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Nevada

Where to find a Medical Marijuana Doctor in NV?

The Nevada Medical Marijuana Program does not refer patients to doctors. Any Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) who is licensed to practice medicine in NV can recommend a patient to use medical marijuana.

Where are the legal cannabis dispensaries in NV located?

Since licensed physicians cannot prescribe marijuana, pharmacies are not legally allowed to dispense marijuana. Only state-run cannabis dispensaries in Nevada can sell medical marijuana.

There are currently 38 licensed cannabis dispensaries open across the state.

Currently, NV law allows for 60 dispensaries statewide.

What does my medical card get me at a Nevada dispensary?

Qualified patients in NV may buy up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every two weeks. Medical marijuana must be purchased at a licensed medical marijuana dispensary.

Qualified patients can also grow up to 12 plants if they register the address where they are growing at. Although, if the patient lives within 25 miles of a licensed dispensary, they won’t be allowed to grow their marijuana.

Where can you smoke?

In Nevada, patients with a medical marijuana card cannot smoke in the following places:

  • While operating a motorized vehicle, including boats and aircraft
  • In a public place
  • In a detention facility, county jail, state prison
  • While delivering marijuana to another person
  • School grounds or property

Are Patients and Caregivers Shielded from Discrimination?

Yes. Patients must add their caregiver to their account once they are registered. The caregiver’s driver’s license or ID card must be uploaded to complete the registration.

What is the future of the Medical Marijuana Program in NV?

The use of medical marijuana became legal in 2000. Since then, the state of NV has continued to update and revised the rules and regulations surrounding the Medical Marijuana Program. The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health is currently creating a website for Medical Marijuana Cardholders to receive ongoing training and education regarding the Medical Marijuana Program.

Lindsey is a Green Rush Daily staff writer who resides in the cannabis epicenter of Portland, OR. She was the chief editor of her collegiate newspaper and has an extensive background and experience in the legal cannabis industry.

More in Guides

To Top